Bookish Buzzwords

We’ve all got those few words that, when we see it on a blurb or in a review, make us snatch the book right up. Buzzwords! Here are a few of mine, comment below and tell me some of yours!

Sherlock Holmes – Any sort of Sherlock retelling or inspiration automatically has me buying a book. No questions asked. (Recommendation: A Study in Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro)

Steampunk – This isn’t an automatic one for me, but I do love the turn of the century setting, and enjoy seeing how it gets mixed with modern machinery. (Recommendation: Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld)

Victorian Mystery– Again, the combination of an old fashioned setting with the excitement of a mystery is super intriguing! (Recommendation: Jackaby by William Ritter)

Gender-Bend – Literally anything that involves a girl disguising herself as a guy or vice versa has me picking it up in seconds. Mulan was always my favorite Disney hero, and I love any chance to relive that excitement. (Recommendation: A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab)

Jane Austen – Again, any retelling or story inspired by Jane Austen has me in a heartbeat. She’s one of my all time favorites and I love seeing modern takes on her stories! (Recommendation: Prom & Prejudice by Elizabeth Eulberg)

To keep up with what I’m reading, be sure to friend me on Goodreads!

 

Leave a Reply

